Minori. Typical and quiet seaside resort. The glamorous and friendly environment allows a pleasant stay thanks to the "picturesque corners" and the greenary of the tidy terraces where citrus fruits grow.
In the past it called " Reginna ", but subsequently it took the epithet of " Minori " in consideration of the neighbouring town, which being bigger, it was called " Reginna Maior ".
Minori was famous for its Arsenal and shipyard and it became a diocese because of Pope John XV in 987. It was a rival of Amalfi " for its picturesque site, its beach, its industries and its oranges ", so that the doges of the Republic often stayed here and some of them are even buried in the Cathedral.
Once, Minori, had as industries the whitening of painting, the tanning of hides (1524 ), a large turnover of salt pork meat etc; today ( 1881 ), it offers writing paper and kneading dough, in fact, they are the leading, as dough producer, on the Amalfi Coast. Very frequent are the export of citrus, almost every day, from these place to Naples, Rome, Bologna and not only even to England, Holland and U.S.A. ,in this case they are sent in crating. Minori is crossed by a little river called " Farinola " or " Reginnolo ", its source is over Ravello. Very important is the event of Sergio ' s imprisonment, the second bishop of Minori, from the Salernitano Prince Guaimario IV " a very wicked man and enemy of these populations ". Segio bishop was freed at the cost of money and after short time he died.
11 April 1597, Minori was devastated by a storm. The seawaters reached the principal church and took away the public square and most of the vegetable gardens. Among calamities that this village had, there were the plagues of 1492, 1528 and 1656 years which spread death and terror.
The village overlooks a little beach encircled by a wonderful public garden, in it there is a fountain with lions of the half of XI century. The cathedral, dedicated to S. Trofimena, was rebuilt in XIX century, now its interior is large and well-lighted with a nave and two side aisles, separated by pillars which form four passages for each sides and in level with them there are chapels. Very interesting is the marble pulpit of 1616. Through two stairs, which start from the balustrade of presbytery, one enters in the original side of the cathedral: " the crypt ".
The minor basilica with a nave and two side aisles, was rebuilt in the '700 and has on its altar an alabaster urn sculptured in the 1722 by Gennaro Ragozzino, it keeps S. Trofimena mortal remains.
Along the stream, near the sea, there is the Roman Villa built at the time of Augusto (I century a.D.). It was discovered in 1932 and brought it completely to light between 1950 and 1954. It has two-storeys, the first is covered by a vault while the second, probably, by wooden beam floor. The villa is encircled by a garden with a swimming- pool at the centre. The fourth side is occupied by the nymphaeum, it is decorated with stuccoes, frescoes and mosaics of Pompei style.